My blog has moved to http://blog.derekbobo.com

I moved my blog. Visit http://blog.derekbobo.com for the new one!

I got my guitar back today!

Posted by derekbobo on April 30, 2009

I decided to pick up guitar playing about 3 weeks ago. My younger brother bought a guitar and taught himself to play a few songs years ago, so when I decided to take it up I bought his old Ibanez off of him for $30. She had been in the basement for a couple years without playing, the strings needed replaced and there was a screw in the place of one of the bridge pins… but it was $30 so it was fine to get me started.

Once I started my lessons I figured it was worth having her cleaned up nice like. They replaced the strings, put a new bridge pin in, straightened the neck a bit, and oiled her up nicely. I now have a whopping $65 in the guitar so I can’t complain.

This is the song I’ve been trying to learn. If you jump to about 2:00 in the video it shows the strumming version and that’s what I’ve been practicing. It’s really a pretty simple song, but I haven’t quite got it all to come together yet. If I’m strumming the chords individually they sound fine. If I strum the rhythm without the chords I can do the rhythm pretty well. So far when I try to put the two together I just can’t seem to get it to click yet. I’ll keep at it!

Leave a comment